Published on November 24, 2019

Pavit Wins Inaugural Sabah Masters

Pavit Tangkamolprasert of Thailand. Photo: Asian Tour

Thailand’s Pavit Tangkamolprasert defeated compatriot Phachara Khongwatmai and Australian David Gleeson with an incredible chip-in birdie on the second playoff hole to clinch his second Asian Tour title in style at the Sabah Masters on Sunday.

The 30-year-old Pavit, who suffered a play-off defeat at the Thailand Open two weeks ago, redeemed himself by emerging victorious in a four-way play-off against Phachara, Gleeson and Aman Raj of India at the Sutera Harbour Golf and Country Club.

Pavit marked his week’s best efforts with a closing six-under-par 65 to force extra time with Phachara (67), Gleeson (68) and Raj (63) after the quartet ended regulation play with matching totals of 13-under-par 271s at the US$300,000 full-field Asian Tour event.

The first playoff hole, which was held on the par-four 18, saw Raj bow out with a bogey while the others made pars. The remaining trio found the centre fairway on the second extra hole but their second shots were all short of the green.

It was Pavit who sealed the deal with his 15-yard chip-in birdie from the fringe while Phachara and Gleeson missed their chips to settle for pars. Pavit’s birdie on the 74th hole is only the second one recorded in the final round of the Sabah Masters.

The inaugural Sabah Masters is proudly supported by the Tourism Malaysia with an aim to boost tourism in Sabah.


Final Scores    

271 – Pavit Tangkamolprasert (THA) 73-66-67-65, Aman Raj (IND) 68-70-70-63, David Gleeson (AUS) 66-69-68-68, Phachara Khongwatmai (THA) 66-67-71-67.

274 – Yikeun Chang (KOR) 70-68-70-66, Rashid Khan (IND) 67-70-69-68, Wang Wei-lun (TPE) 67-68-70-69.

275 – Daniel Fox (AUS) 71-68-68-68, Jakraphan Premsirigorn (THA) 68-71-66-70, Danthai Boonma (THA) 73-66-71-65, Sungho Lee (KOR) 67-68-71-69.

276 – Suttijet Kooratanapisan (THA) 68-71-69-68, Rory Hie (INA) 73-69-65-69, Aaron Wilkin (AUS) 66-71-71-68, Joohyung Kim (KOR) 67-70-71-68, Udayan Mane (IND) 68-68-69-71.

277 – Sattaya Supupramai (THA) 70-70-67-70.

278 – Ben Geyer (USA) 71-69-69-69, Travis Smyth (AUS) 70-71-68-69, Mardan Mamat (SIN) 70-71-68-69.

279 – Aadil Bedi (IND) 70-70-70-69, Josh Younger (AUS) 69-71-70-69, Kosuke Hamamoto (THA) 69-72-72-66, Brian Jung (CAN) 73-66-71-69, Taewoo Kim #1468 (KOR) 72-70-69-68, Siddikur Rahman (BAN) 68-69-71-71, Soonsang Hong (KOR) 70-67-69-73.

280 – Soomin Lee (KOR) 69-70-76-65, Joshua Andrew Wirawan (INA) 66-73-70-71, Teemu Putkonen (FIN) 70-72-69-69, Jaewoong Eom (KOR) 68-74-70-68, Chapchai Nirat (THA) 70-68-72-70.

281 – Liu Yanwei (CHN) 69-71-72-69, Cory Crawford (AUS) 70-71-68-72, Jack Harrison (ENG) 70-71-67-73, Jack Murdoch (AUS) 70-69-74-68, Poosit Supupramai (THA) 69-73-70-69, Dongha Lee #562 (KOR) 68-67-72-74.