Published on July 13, 2019

Laksamana Trophy Raises RM2.045 Million

Els Club Desaru Coast once again played host to the 3rd edition of the Laksamana Trophy Charity Golf Tournament on 6 July 2019.

The 3rd edition of the Laksamana Trophy managed to raise RM2,045,000 from the tournament fees, partnership contributions, sponsorships in cash as well as from the major cash contributions made during the pledging session held during the royal luncheon and prize presentation from companies including Ranhill, KLIA TV, Astaka Padu, Coronade Properties, and Lotus Group.

The one-day Laksamana Trophy, which was officiated by His Majesty Sultan Ibrahim ibni Almarhum Sultan Iskandar offered golfers the opportunity to play on one of the most renowned and prestigious courses designed by the former World No 1, “The Big Easy” South African, Ernie Els.

The Laksamana Trophy, named after the late Tunku Laksamana of Johor, HH Almarhum Tunku Abdul Jalil Iskandar Sultan Ibrahim has now become one of the most coveted charity golf events in the country. The proceeds from the tournament, organised by the Johor Golf Tourism Association (JGTA), will benefit the Tunku Laksamana Johor Cancer Foundation.

“We acknowledge and deeply appreciate all the generous support and donations made by so many companies as well as individuals who have come together to raise funds for the Tunku Laksamana Johor Cancer Foundation,” said Tan Sri Dato’ Sri Ar. Hj. Esa Hj Mohamad, the Organising Chairman.

The tournament saw 100 ardent golfers representing 25 companies from various sectors teeing-off on the greens to raise charity.

The participants were rewarded with goodies, prizes, breakfast, and a royal prize presentation luncheon graced by His Majesty Sultan Ibrahim ibni Almarhum Sultan Iskandar. The participants were pleasantly surprised with exquisite door gifts such as Coach, Mont Blanc, and John Varvatos bottles of perfumes as well as Yves Rocher body products all sponsored by Luxasia Singapore.

The 8.30-morning shotgun start saw participants set off for a day of fellowship on the greens, that included a number of friendly novelty competitions – Nearest-to-the-Pin, Nearest-to-the-Line, Longest Drive, as well as four generous Hole-in-one prizes. The Hole-in-One prizes, which included two Lexus NX300 Urban and Lexus NX300 Premium with one Toyota Camry and one Toyota C-HR went unclaimed.

The Tunku Laksamana Johor Cancer Foundation, which was set up and officially launched on August 6, 2016, by His Majesty Sultan Ibrahim ibni Almarhum Sultan Iskandar is aimed to help cancer patients who are in need of financial aid and treatment. Since its inception, the Foundation has helped more than a thousand underprivileged cancer patients in Johor Darul Ta’zim involving a total amount of RM5.9 million. As at December 2018, the Foundation has successfully organised more than 115 cancer awareness programmes, fundraising programmes, visiting cancer patients at their homes, and volunteer workshops. The Foundation has also built another three cancer facilities at three government hospitals in Johor Darul Ta’zim, which are the Tunku Laksamana Johor Complex at Hospital Permai, Tunku Laksamana Johor Haematology Ward at Hospital Sultanah Aminah and the Tunku Laksamana Oncology Centre at Sultanah Fatimah Specialist Centre in Muar. Indeed, the Foundation relies on the kind generosity of corporations, industry captains, and the broader community to help sustain the funding needs of underprivileged cancer patients.

Tan Sri Hj Esa further said, “I am deeply touched to see so many charitable corporations and generous individuals who have come forward to give their unwavering support to the tournament by purchasing the flights and making significant contributions, sponsorships and donations to the Tunku Laksamana Johor Cancer Foundation.”

The best three teams, the Tourism Johor, Astaka Padu and D’Harmoni Telco Infra walked away with beautifully crafted crystal trophies for each player. The Best Team Champion, Tourism Johor, also won the 24-karat gold plated Laksamana Challenge Trophy.






  • Mohd Anizam Jamian
  • Mohd Radif Kosnin
  • Mohd Johari Tarmidi
  • Sazali Adan



  • Dato’ Daing Malik A. Rahman
  • Dato’ Jason Teo
  • Nor Azmi Akob
  • Chum Kok Choy



  • Muhammad Isamuddin Dato’ Sukarno
  • Abdullah Md Salleh
  • Khairul Nizam Daud
  • Nazlan Zulkarnain Ramli



Champion– Capt. Mohd Anizam Jamian 40 points

1stRunner-Up– Mohd Johari Tarmidi 39 points (OCB)

2ndRunner-Up– Haji Mohd Zainal Mohd Zin 39 points


BEST GROSS CHAMPION– Nor Azmi Akob 73 gross



Nearest-to-the-Pin Awards

  • Dato’ Adib Azhari (Coast 3)
  • Mohd Radif Kosnin (Lakes 6)


Nearest-to-the-Line Awards

  • Mohd Anizam Jamian (Lakes 7)
  • Nazlan Zulkarnain Ramli (Coast 7)


Longest Drive Awards

  • Haji Mohd Zainal Mohd Zin (Lakes 4)
  • Mohd Anizam Jamian (Coast 8)